Quiet Music Ensemble | The Mysteries Beyond Matter

First Edition of 1000 copies.

The first of two CDs by Cork based Quiet Music Ensemble, featuring compositions by David Toop, Alvin Lucier, Pauline Oliveros, and John Godfrey.

Presented as a folded coloured booklet printed on heavy uncoated paper stock, each hand numbered and enclosed in a clear plastic wallet.

Available now for only €14.99


Quiet Music Ensemble | The Mysteries Beyond Matter

Quiet Music Ensemble and Farpoint Recordings are very pleased announce the release of The Mysteries Beyond Matter: world premiere recordings of works by Experimental giants Pauline Oliveros, Alvin Lucier and David Toop, and ensemble founder John Godfrey. This first CD by one of Ireland's most innovative and radical performing groups is the first of a two CD set; the second's coming soon. Solely comprising works composed for QME, it contains Toop's landmark night leaves breathing, an entrancing sonic lens on the miniature sonorities of deep night and the first work of its kind in his output; Lucier's astonishing Shadow Lines, an extraordinary and luminescent web of sliding and still tones quite unlike anything else he's composed; Oliveros' radiant The Mystery Beyond Matter, which explores an extraordinary maze of acoustics created within especially developed software; and Godfrey's hand tinted, a mesmerising instrumental colouration of immersive soundscapes recorded in Laos. The second CD by Quiet Music Ensemble will be released during summer 2015.

Presented with funding from the Arts Council Music Recording Scheme, managed by Music Network.

Track Listing:

1/ night leaves breathing | David Toop | 20'03''
2/ Shadow Lines | Alvin Lucier | 14'30''
3/ The Mystery Beyond Matter | Pauline Oliveros | 23'38''
4/ hand tinted | John Godfrey | 12'41''

Total duration: 71'12''

View CD Notes

Please choose your postal region